Pop up electrical problem. blown fuses to battery. Where to start?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Diamond#1

Hello I am new to RV site and just purchased a used 2008 Fleetwood pop up camper.  There seems to be a problem with the electrical and I do not know where to start looking for the solution. 

When I first purchased it it seemed to work fine but there was no battery hooked up just 120v.

I hooked up the pop up for the first time to both 120v and battery last weekend and after about 10 mins it started to smell a burning smell from the converter box inside the pop up and then a loud pop and the 30amp fuse at the battery literally blown.  It was so bad that it melted the whole fuse holder together still created a connection as the metal parts were fused together.  But luckily I was there and disconnected it from the battery quickly.  (Note the fuse on the converter box labeled battery 12v 30amp fuse was still good)
We finished the trip with just hooked up to the 120v and everything but the interior light and toilet worked so it wasn't too bad.   
Now that I am home here is what is happening.

1) When I hook up the battery 12v itself it works fine.  The interior lights, the toilet and the water pump.  Battery shows 12.65v

2) When I hook up the 120v to the camper with battery hooked up and check the voltage it goes up to slowly to reading 18v not sure if it would have gone up more as I was too afraid and unhooked it the 120v.

3)  I do see some sort of problem.  So without even the 120v plugged in, when I use the volt meter and touch the positive part of the battery terminal with one end of the meter and the other end of the volt meter to the positive part of the wire coming out of the trailer that supposed to be hooked up to the possible terminal of the battery, it shows a reading of 12.65v.  (Shouldn't it have a "0" reading?)