Eugene, OR, to Valley of Fire, north of Las Vegas in late February

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JudyJB

I am a very experienced motorhome driver, but am concerned about the best (least likely to be snowy and icy) route to take from Eugene to Valley of Fire State Park, north of Las Vegas.  Late February means there will still be snow in the mountains, and I will not drive in snow.  If it says to put chains on, I will turn around and exit as quickly as possible!! 

I do not care about sightseeing along the route as I have been on most of these routes in good weather.  Just want to get there as quickly and as safely as possible.  I know to check the state highway people at the last moment, but what is most likely the best route to take to get me to Las Vegas.  (Coming back will be in late April, so won't have weather issues then.) 

I would prefer the shorter route east of the mountains, but am not sure where the best place is to cut across. 

If you have a thing against snow, I suggest staying on I-5 to Bakersfield where you can take Hwy 58 to I-15 and on into Vegas. The Oregon mountains are actually having a winter this year.

As a CA native, I agree with Wendy.  The lead story yesterday in the SF Chronicle was 10 straight days of incoming storms for Oregon and Northern California, including heavy snow in the Sierra Nevadas.

I-5 is a boring drive, but the advantage is it's heavily trafficked and as such it's a high priority to be kept open and unimpeded. 

There are several ups and downs in Oregon, but the main pass you'll have to cross is Siskiyou at the CA/OR border.  Time your trip to get over the stretch between Siskiyou and Redding during the day, stopping in the Medford area if necessary to wait for a storm to pass.