Best Fishing Spots in MN

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cerd

Does anybody have any good fishing spots south of the Twin Cities? I am getting kind of tired of panfish. I want some variety this year. Its been over 10 years since I gave caught any gamefish, so that would be a refreshment.

I do have a few spots on the Mississippi for Catfish, but since the shore is rocks, I don't trust my clumsy kids near there. I do have a boat, but I am a novice when it comes to navigating the river and don't want to risk cracking the fiberglass.

My brother and I are considering bow fishing, so if anybody has a good spot for that, let me know those too.

South of the Twin Cities the lakes get shallower and shallower but there are a few that aren't bad.  Marion at Lakeville, Prior Lake aren't too bad until the water gets warm enough for jet skies and water skiers.  Then it's pretty bad at least on weekends.  Cannon Lake at Faribault is OK but when you get west of there there is a string of lakes that are pretty good.  Washington, Jefferson, Elysian, and my favorite Lake Francis.

We do have a few small lakes closer in, Carl's lake is good for pan fish, Fox Lake, Circle Lake, ect.

The last time I tried to launch at Circle I couldn't get away from the launch area as sit was too shallow.  Don't know if they fixed that yet.

I can get pretty shallow in my boat. I think the back only sits in the water about 8 inches with 4 people and a big cooler. I can safely drive in about 2 feet as long as I know that there are no obstructions in the water.

Weeds are a little dicey since my trolling motor is mounted on the lower unit. I have considered buying a trolling motor, but I bought this boat for $400 and put $200 into repairing it, so a trolling motor likely costs more than the boat and my wife probably won't go for that.