elec schematic for 24 volt RV battery system

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

oldryder

my daughter and hubby have chosen to turn a Promaster van into an RV.

They want a water heater which will be operated off 2 100AH deep cycle batteries and 3000w. inverter for shower.

Need schematic for wiring and charger to charge 12v. batteries while maintaining 24v. supply to inverter.

Advice is welcome.  I am an elec engineer and can insure wiring is adequate for application.

thx. in advance for help

mark in MN

I can't help with the schematic, but I will note that those two batteries won't provide hot water for all that long, and will require long recharge times between uses. 2 * 100 = 200 amp hours to dead (figure half that, or 50% discharge if you want the batteries to last more than a handful of uses), or 100 amp hours * 12V == 1200 watt hours to feed a 3000 watt inverter. I don't know the draw from your electric heater, but I think a LOT more batteries might be in order.

There are others here who can provide much more and better information.

Larry, thx for response.

water heater is 1650 watts.  Watts = Volts X Amps means 13.75 amps at 110v or about 65 amps at 24v.  that's a big load but assuming a shower lasts 5 minutes the draw should be less than 10% of battery capacity when fully charged even allowing for losses in the inverter.

If I've got this wrong somehow I'm very open to being corrected.

mark s.

are they going to set up some propane for other uses?
if so that is way to heat water.
I have both elect and propane in my toy hauler.
the propane is faster and hotter for little gas.

oldryder said:
Larry, thx for response.