12v battery wiring, not series or parallel, but...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TrailerTrucker

Hello all RVers,

Thanks in advance for your help!  We recently bought a used 2010 Lance trailer, and found the batteries are wired like the attached picture...which I think is neither series nor parallel, but something just plain wrong.  I took it on a two-week trip, and it did just fine, but seemed to draw down pretty quick, though that was my first trip and I have little experience on how long these batteries should last.

Can anyone share what this wiring would actually do to my batteries and my capacity? Thanks so much

Attachments

• 123.jpg
    123.jpg
    80.7 KB · Views: 154
TrailerTrucker said:
Hello all RVers,

Thanks in advance for your help!  We recently bought a used 2010 Lance trailer, and found the batteries are wired like the attached picture...which I think is neither series nor parallel, but something just plain wrong.  I took it on a two-week trip, and it did just fine, but seemed to draw down pretty quick, though that was my first trip and I have little experience on how long these batteries should last.

Can anyone share what this wiring would actually do to my batteries and my capacity? Thanks so much

How old are batteries?  Draw down pretty quick?  What were you running.  A couple lights and a propane fridge, one thing.  Furnace, a whole different story.

Parallel wired as they are, keeps the system 12 vDc.  Just adds 2X the length they will last. (in theory)

They are in parallel, but wired wrong, they should feed corner to corner, not with the load positive and negative on the same battery.  Having it wired like this one battery will lag behind the other charging or discharging.  The simplest corrective action would be to move either the positive or negative feed to the other battery in the set.

Isaac-1 said: