Mail Box Etiquette

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

djw2112

I finally got my welcome packet for the property i purchased and that means i can now start developing the lot.  So the first thing i did was put up my mail box.  The post office (2 dif people at my new post office) told me to put it past my driveway, 42-46 inches from ground to bottom of mailbox and as close to the road as possible.  So that is what i did. 

My neighbor came by to say hello and introduce himself (good guy) and was very polite and said that i should have put my mailbox on the other side of the road.  It was then that i noticed all the other mailboxes over there.  This is my first time owning property and i did notice that there were no other mail boxes on my side of the street but i just thought they were getting their mail in a box on their house rather than the street.

The thing is i dont want to move my mailbox, i like it right where it is.  If i have to move it ill have to bust it all part and redo the whole thing.  This is the first day of mail since i put it up and i dont know if ill get a note from the carrier or not.  I even checked with the community office and they agreed with me that i put it in the right place.  They also agreed that the mail carrier could just get out of their vehicle and walk 10ft and put my mail in my box, this is not a busy road, it is a private road in a private communty with little traffic.

This is kind of a delema, if i make the carrier mad who's to say that some of my mail wont misteriously get lost, but i also want to stand up for what i feel is right. 

Anyone deal with this before, can the post office force me to move it or refuse my mail delivery if i dont?