Our KOFA Boondocking Experience

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

camperAL

Boondocking Report

Free Camping on BLM Land (sort of)

Part 1

After reading about camping out in the KOFA area by some of our fellow forum members, we thought we would try our hand on doing the same in that area. We camped in our Class A Coachmen Mirada 33 footer. The Mirada has a payload capacity of 3,100 lbs. Disclaimer: I'm not an expert at what I am doing and don't profess to be, but rather just attempted to do this sort of camping in order to see what all was involved. No doubt there are better ways of doing some things and always look forward to people offer bits of advise and comments not only for us but for others who might attempt this fun way of camping.

I thought I would share our first time boondocking experience with others on the forum who may want to try this sometime. Since everyone has different tank sizes/fuel sizes, your time out will vary compared to ours. There are many factors including how long you can go personally, if your with a partner how much they use or even how much you use the resources. It also depends on your comfort levels and how long you feel you can take living away from some comforts. Also depending on weather conditions (as I found out) how long you can spend out before needing to replenish your supplies. Our goal was to be out three weeks without having to go and replenish our resources.