Everglades?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
First off lets address the elephant in the room. Summer is mosquito season. The companies that make mosquito repellent spend their summers at the Everglades testing products. April is about the latest you should be going there and not before November. Attached is an actual mosquito meter from the entrance booth at the Flamingo Campground. My favorite campground is the Flamingo Campgrounds since it is right on the Bay of Florida. There is also Long Pine Key Campground which I have not stayed in. I think there is a lot here to do since I am a bird photographer. If you are not into bird photography then I would think you would only need a few days to see the whole place. There are some cool sunset tours into the Bay of Florida and there are some cool kayak tours you can book.

Attachments

• Mosquito meter.jpg
    Mosquito meter.jpg
    32.8 KB · Views: 99
We love the Everglades National Park and have paddled, explored  and camped along the "ninty nine mile wilderness waterway" as well as taken many back country multiday camping trips.
The only two public camping sites in the NP are from the southern entrance.  Flamingo which is at the very end of the main 30 mile park road, and Long Pine Key which is five miles from the entrance station.
Neither one has full hookups. Flamingo has two sections. One has some electric sites, but no water except for a water station at the bath house and just cold water showers. The other section has no electric, but does have a solar heated shower room.
At Flamingo you can rent canoes, kayaks or a house boat and explore some of the interior of the Everglades via the Buttonwood Canal or explore Florida Bay
Long Pine key is in the middle of a Pine Grove and has no electricity or water except water at the shower room and cold showers