State Park campground space sizes

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tumbleweed97

I'm a newbie to the forum and to RVing.  Having just bought my first 5th wheel my wife and I went on our maiden voyage to a private park and all went well.  Now I'm looking at going to state parks here in Oregon and see that each space is listed as B9(53) for example meaning space B9 is 53 feet.  I also see that they often say that the number of vehicles allowed is 2.  So here is my question:

If the space is 53 feet does this mean that I must be able to park both my tow vehicle and my 5th wheel/trailer within that given 53 feet or is there also an area separate from the RV pad for parking the tow vehicle?

I've seen some campgrounds where you could pull your tow vehicle to the side where a picnic table might be located.  I've scanned the state park literature but to no avail have I been able to find the answer.  Also the Woodalls book does not explain this little bit of detail either.

Thanks for you help and responses.......Tumbleweed

You'll find both.  It just depends on the park.  They often say not to park on the grass.  Usually you try to angle your car in such a way that you're either across one end of the site or you can park straight on at either the front or back.  The only way to find out for sure is to ask.  Some of the newer parks (Sparks Marina RV Park in Reno comes to mind) actually have a paved space for the RV and another for the car.  It's really nice when they do that.  Others are more cramped and sometimes it takes some maneuvering.

ArdraF

We stayed at Sparks Marina RV Park just a month ago.  It was really a nice place.  I think because it was new, it was only 1/2 full.