driving truck campers in narrow roads

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nakamuru

So I currently drive a sub compact suv and when driving I feel there is margin of error to the left and right of me. Driving a truck alone seems to close the margin and then when you add a camper it seems like it will fill up the whole lane. Or worse those roads where it's like one car per ally and you go down the middle and realize you won't make it thru . Is this a big problem with truck campers? And is it all about planning ahead and just go the easy route where theres always room left and right of me?  It's my nightmare I'll be driving comfortably then hear some scratching sound where I bumped into someone on side. Insurace goes up, who knows what kind of person I hit will be. One of the reasons why truck camping I'm thinking of staying away from. I'm a great driver with my subcompact but truck seems like whole new game. Any new truck drivers that can attest it's not bad?

You get use to it if you drive it enough...The Sub compact gives you a lot of play room with the lanes and you get spoiled. But the lanes are wide enough for you RV. You just have to pay closer attention to your driving.

The only thing I watch for is low bridges. I'm running at 11 feet so anything less than 12 get my attention.

Your mirrors will be the first thing to scrape, so no point in worrying about the camper width

Driving a larger vehicle is an acquired skill. With practice, you?ll instinctively know exactly where you are in the lane and if you?ll have clearance issues. In the very unlikely event you get into a dead-end situation, simply back out. The truck isn?t any wider or longer going backwards than it is going forward. 

HappyWanderer said:
The truck isn?t any wider or longer going backwards than it is going forward.