Watts and voltage

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

PancakeBill

I was at an electronics store the other day and they have some surplus sales.  The had 250 watt 30 volt panels, it mentioned 'Canadian' units.  I assume, just the mfg'er, I am new to looking at systems, and already have a great one, but would these work?  Doesn't the controller essentially step down the voltage?  These are very inexpensive!  $99 each. 

However the cheap price if it won't build into a system is worthless. 

No, a controller will not usually do anything to volts.  All it does is control the charge rate to the storage bank.  It sounds like what you were looking at is a house panel, not one suitable for an RV

Actually, a lot of people are installing residential solar panels on their RVs, and for the most part, they seem to be happy with them. Residential panels output higher voltages, so you'd have to use an MPPT controller vs. a PWM controller. MPPT controllers convert excess voltage to amps. PWM controllers don't. 

Kev

Isaac-1 said:
MPPT controllers also cost more and perform better

quite true, these days there is no reason whatsoever to use a PWM controller unless you have
an extremely low budget. much better electrical and cost efficiency is obtained with higher voltage panels
and a MPPT controller.

WHen you divide WATTS by VOLTAGE on a solar panel you get the theoretical maximum amps the panel can put out (It will never deliver)  Canadian or US the math is the same.

Of course depending on the type of controller and a few other variables.. Power delivered to the batteries may be as low as 25 watts (At a guess) or 2 amps. I'd not expect more than about 3.5 tops. but.. You won't know till you meter them. from those panels in full sun.

Get them if they can fit on your roof.