Does my 5th wheel have a 24 volt system instead of a 12 volt system?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mynameisbs

Hi everyone, I'm still pretty new to RV'ing (hence posting in the newbies board), and thought I was getting to know our trailer pretty well until the other day.

We have a 1996 Alpenlite Hillcrest 31RK 25th Anniversary Edition and have been redoing a lot of the interior as it's pretty dated. I pulled down one of the non-functional light fixtures from the ceiling the other day and tested the voltage on the wires leading to it with a multimeter and got a reading of 28 volts. I understand that the large majority of RV's are going to be 12 volts, and we recently replaced the old wall lights with 12 volt LED lamps which are working just fine. Is there something I'm missing here as far as wiring goes? Is it possible that we do have a 24 volt electrical system and our 12 volt lights just haven't burned out yet? The fixture I pulled and tested has two fluorescent light tubes in it, so is it possible that just the roof lights have 24 volts because it has to power two separate 12 volt lights off of one set of wires? I also replaced some of the roof vents and they don't seem to be overloaded or spinning faster than I'd expect (which I am assuming is what would happen if they were receiving double the voltage they're rated for). There is no solar setup of any kind (I've seen that 24 volt systems may be better for solar panel setups).

Any assistance is greatly appreciated. Unfortunately I am away from home for work for a few days so can't test anything right now. I just want to get some ideas for what to check on when I get back.

24 volts will fry pretty much everything, I think your meter is incorrectly set. If the trailer has two batteries make sure they are connected in parallel, pos to pos, neg to neg.

Roy M ] said: