Kids riding positions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jackolantern22

Okay, so this may be a silly question.... but when traveling in a Class C (24'-29' range), where do y'all have your kids ride?

It seems to me that a great situation would be to have two seats aft of the driver and navigator so that, if desired, the family could cruise as though in a normal vehicle. But that doesn't seem common.... We're likely taking our two boys (ages 9 and 4) on the road this summer for their first RV experience. I have some experience but never with the kids... if my wife and I are up front, are the kids simply belted at the dinette or the sofa (one of the options I'm looking at has a sofa with two seatbelts)?

We have a class A but I would imagine it isn't too different. We have seatbelts at the dinette and also on the couch.

If  they are anything like my kids were you want one at the dinette and one on the couch so they have room to spread out and have room for their stuff..

A second row of forward-facing and seat-belted passenger seating would certainly be desirable for people with families, but few buyers are willing to dedicate the space (and $$) for that. You are talking about an extra 4-6 ft of length and a couple solid seats with anchored seat belts.  There is a legal problem for the RV makers as well, because as soon as they designate a position as a passenger seat, they open themselves up to liability claims if it turns out to be less than perfect in an accident. The legal concern has actually caused RV makers to remove seat belts from places of questionable safety, e.g dinette seats and side-facing sofas and lounge chairs. 

Gary RV_Wizard said: