Considering stationary fulltiming in PNW

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ambassador

Hello, I'm relatively new to the concept of living in an RV fulltime for myself, and am considering trying it out. I'm absorbing whatever information I can find, but want to reach out to experienced people more directly to get an idea of what it's like so I can make a definitive decision.

I'm considering going with a 5th wheel or TT, 24-28 feet max, year 2010 or newer. I'm 26, single, with only one pet; a small-ish (pigeon sized) bird. I'd be more-or-less stationary, staying in an RV park/resort for several months or a year or more, as I have a stable job I don't want to leave. The primary reason I'm looking into it is twofold; I've considered tiny home living for a little over a year now and the portability appeals, and I'll be needing new housing in the next 2 1/2 months, and from what I can gauge around this area, it ends up being the same footage and potentially cheaper for what I can afford if I go with a trailer/5th wheel instead of an apartment.

My biggest obstacle is that I live in the Seattle area (Washington State), which runs the risk of colder winters, and is often rainy. Generally this area doesn't get below 20 and little snow, but this past winter was more extreme, with several rounds of 1-2 feet of snow. I know most RVs are not designed for winter use, and I'm worried about it losing power and heat while I'm at work and killing whatever is inside. The rain I am less concerned about as long as I mind the seals. I've previously spent a summer in a 5th wheel, though I was in a place where I only spent the night in it, and didn't have to prepare food or use the bathroom in it so I'm not sure how reflective that is.