Need Help with Solar

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JimBigger

Hi All,
I am new to the forum, 2nd year trailer owner and still learning solar. Something unusual happened this weekend. Let me tell you about my set up first. I have (4) 100Watt solar panels connected in parallel. They are connected to just a cheap PMW charge controller (30amp) wich then goes to 8 SLA batteries. I have a 3000W pure sine wave inverter connected to the batteries (connected using 4AWG wire and that run is only about 2' long. Between the inverter and the batteries I have a 300amp fuse. From there I plug in my 30 amp "shore power" plug into my inverter which in turn powers everything in the trailer. In order to avoid issues, I unplug my charger/ converter so the batteries don't try to charge the batteries...
So I have been using this set up for a few months, no issues as long as I remember to unplug the charger/ converter. The first time I powered up the inverter I was unaware about the charger/ converter and blew to fuses in my converter. Luckily, that was the only damage.
The reason I am running a 3000W inverter is to have enough power to run a 900W coffee maker.
The other morning I powered up the inverter and turned on the coffee pot. I few minutes later I could smell something burning. I immediately turned off the inverter and realized I forgot to unplug the charger/converter. I unplugged it and I didn't blow any fuses on the charger /converter. I checked the inverter and the wires going from the inverter (4AWG) to the batteries were extremely hot and the line going to the 300amp fuse was melting and melted part of the plastic casing of the fuse but did not blow it.
So my questions are these: