Question about Equipment on New (to me) Ram 1500 Laramie

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Marteau

I just came home with a 2014 Ram 1500 Laramie that has the RWD 8-Speed Automatic HEMI 5.7L V8....which I'll be using as my tow vehicle.

The truck has a tow package that has Integrated Trailer Brake Module.

However, the previous owner installed the Tekonsha Proportional Brake Controller.

Why or was there a reason to install the Tekonsha?  I'm just learning about the vehicle and know it was used as a TV, but, I'm green and want to understand before I purchase my TT.

Thanks,
Louise

Welcome to The RV Forum, Louise!

The integrated Trailer Brake Module is superior to the Tekonsha brake controller.  The integrated controller applies the trailer brakes in perfect proportion to how hard you step on the brake pedal.  The Tekonsha uses an inertia sensor to guess at how hard you are braking and how hard it should apply the trailer brakes.

Inertia-based controllers like the Tekonsha have a distinct feel to their operation because there's a moment between when you apply the truck brakes and when the controller senses the decelleration and begins to apply the trailer brakes.  This lets you feel the trailer brakes working.

You dont have this feel with the internal trailer brake module because it applies the trailer brakes in perfect synchronization with the truck brakes.

I don't know why anyone would decide not to use the built-in controller unless it failed.  Perhaps they were used to the "feel" of the Tekonsha controller and the internal controller's seamless operation fooled them into thinking the trailer brakes weren't working.

Hi Lou, thanks for the welcome.