Can you plan a trip/route with Garmin?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Darin

Having trouble figuring out if this is a thing. I'd like to plan my trip on my mac and export it to my Garmin Nuvi. 

Found what I was looking for. Garmin Base Camp app.  Planning trip now.  So far so good. 

Basecamp can have a steep learning curve.  I have been using it for two years now and just getting comfortable with planning trips.  You do not have have your device connected to the PC for Basecamp to function - the map you have needs to be copied to the PC using Garmin Express.
I plan and route our travels on an almost daily basis using Basecamp, then transfer the data to the device.

There are tutorials on the net that can help with the learning thing.

Isaac-1 said:
Do let us know how it goes, I have tried Garmin basecamp and it was completely useless.

phil-t said:
Basecamp can have a steep learning curve.  I have been using it for two years now and just getting comfortable with planning trips.  You do not have have your device connected to the PC for Basecamp to function - the map you have needs to be copied to the PC using Garmin Express.
I plan and route our travels on an almost daily basis using Basecamp, then transfer the data to the device.

There are tutorials on the net that can help with the learning thing.

That steep learning curve is right.  I have yet to get it to actually be a help.  I've watched some of the tutorials; really wish it were user friendly.

Shelia

Is there some advantage to Basecamp? I stopped using it years ago as it was a complete headache.
Google maps to plan the entire trip, then I download to my phone.
Then the trip for each day is looked at again in Google Maps, which will tell me if any road conditions would warrant a detour, then put the day in my GPS.