rvupgradestore.com Composet Products Fridge Defend
RV Life Magazine RV Park Reviews RV Trip Wizard

Author Topic: Sensor Pro  (Read 331 times)

grashley

  • ---
  • Posts: 6135
  • Western KY for now.
Sensor Pro
« on: October 07, 2019, 06:27:18 PM »
I purchased a Sensor Pro, and it works well.  I have a question.  There id a "strongest channel" display and a way to pick a channel to scan for strongest signal.  GREAT!  Is this channel number the channel to which you tune or is it the channel of the actual broadcast, which I understand is often different?

We were camping this weekend and the only stations I could get were ABC and PBS.  No football on Sunday.  I had not done my homework first to find the local CBS  or FOX channels to scan, but is this possible?

If actual broadcast channel, where can I find these?

As always, thanks for great, intelligent answers.
Preacher Gordon, DW Debbie
09 Grand Junction 35 TMS  Progressive HW50C
Andersen Ultimate hitch
2013 F350 Lariat LB SRW Supercab diesel 4X4   TST TMS  Garmin 760
Nimrod Series 70 popup (sold)
It's not a dumb question if you do not know the answer.

SpencerPJ

  • ---
  • Posts: 1966
Re: Sensor Pro
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2019, 06:50:33 AM »
Maybe this would help https://nocable.org/availability-report/zip/46227-indianapolis-in

I did a search 'local channel locations', many websites to give a try.  Good luck, NO football on Sunday.  Yikes
2005 YukonXL
2012 Puma 21FS

Paul & Julie

Tom_M

  • ---
  • Posts: 147
Re: Sensor Pro
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2019, 08:03:08 AM »
Your TV displays the virtual channel. The Sensar Pro displays the RF channel. Here's a site which will help find nearby TV stations and tells you both the virtual channel and RF channel:
https://www.antennasdirect.com/transmitter-locator.html
Tom
2005 Born Free 24 Rear Bath
Towing 2013 Smart Car

John From Detroit

  • ---
  • Posts: 22897
  • ^My New Home^
    • Diabetics Forum
Re: Sensor Pro
« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2019, 08:25:56 AM »
Is this channel number the channel to which you tune or is it the channel of the actual broadcast, which I understand is often different?

This is what I call the Carrier Channel. it is the channel they broadast on

For example in Detroit. last (I checked) if the strongest channel on the Sensar Pro is "7"  that's channel 2-1, 2-1 etc on your TV (More on this later)
If the channel on the tv is 7-n then the sensar pro should peak on 41

When you do an auto scan or auto "Easy Add" The TV figures all that out.

IF you do a "Manual add" then you set the manual add tool to the channel ther Sensar pro found and "Scan" it.

If you have a favorite channel that's a bit... pixelated/broken  Tune to that channel then go to MANUAL ADD.. in most cases it will show that channel and the carrier.

Now manually (I think that is 3 LED's down) tune the Sensar pro to the carrier channel and peak it.
Nothing adds excitement like something that is none of your business
My Home is where I park it.

Lynx0849

  • ---
  • Posts: 198
Re: Sensor Pro
« Reply #4 on: October 08, 2019, 12:00:55 PM »
I didnít reread the whole topic but you all are aware that back in July-August many stations country wide changed their frequencies. Most in major markets moved.
Rob & Deryl, Nettle, Tigger & Mai
Clyde, a 2015 RAM 3500 Cummins Longhorn SRW w/ARE cap
14í V nose utility trailer as mini toy hauler (for now)
N1ICB (Nursing 1 Ice Cold Beer)

Tom_M

  • ---
  • Posts: 147
Re: Sensor Pro
« Reply #5 on: October 08, 2019, 03:25:02 PM »
I didnít reread the whole topic but you all are aware that back in July-August many stations country wide changed their frequencies. Most in major markets moved.
This would only be an issue if a station changed frequency after you did a channel scan. You would then have to do another scan on your TV. The transmitters would be in the same location, so you would not need to reposition your antenna.
Tom
2005 Born Free 24 Rear Bath
Towing 2013 Smart Car

John From Detroit

  • ---
  • Posts: 22897
  • ^My New Home^
    • Diabetics Forum
Re: Sensor Pro
« Reply #6 on: October 08, 2019, 04:07:31 PM »
That is one of the advantages of moving every week or two. I rescan every time I move.

As I said the display on the sensar pro is the broadcast (RF) channel. it may or may not be the "Service" channel  Right now I'm watching 29-1 (Sarnia Canada) that's 35 on the sensar pro.
Nothing adds excitement like something that is none of your business
My Home is where I park it.

grashley

  • ---
  • Posts: 6135
  • Western KY for now.
Re: Sensor Pro
« Reply #7 on: October 08, 2019, 08:03:30 PM »
Thanks all.  Very educational.

Tom:  What you call the RF channel, or actual broadcast channel is what the Antennas Direct site calls DTV channel, correct?

If I want to watch an NBC affiliate, and they are on RF  43,  unless I can get enough signal for the Sensor Pro to see, I can not peak on that channel, correct?  In other words, I can not select and peak on a channel it does not see.

I will need to download a copy of the TV Transmitter info for my destination while I am still at home with internet service!  I goofed this trip.
Preacher Gordon, DW Debbie
09 Grand Junction 35 TMS  Progressive HW50C
Andersen Ultimate hitch
2013 F350 Lariat LB SRW Supercab diesel 4X4   TST TMS  Garmin 760
Nimrod Series 70 popup (sold)
It's not a dumb question if you do not know the answer.

SpencerPJ

  • ---
  • Posts: 1966
Re: Sensor Pro
« Reply #8 on: October 09, 2019, 06:35:20 AM »
You might like this 'On-line' TV listings as well.  Be sure to change the location  ;)

https://www.tvpassport.com/tv-listings

2005 YukonXL
2012 Puma 21FS

Paul & Julie

Tom_M

  • ---
  • Posts: 147
Re: Sensor Pro
« Reply #9 on: October 09, 2019, 02:59:58 PM »
Tom:  What you call the RF channel, or actual broadcast channel is what the Antennas Direct site calls DTV channel, correct?

If I want to watch an NBC affiliate, and they are on RF  43,  unless I can get enough signal for the Sensor Pro to see, I can not peak on that channel, correct?  In other words, I can not select and peak on a channel it does not see.

I will need to download a copy of the TV Transmitter info for my destination while I am still at home with internet service!  I goofed this trip.
Yes, the DTV channel is the RF channel. If you know the RF channel you can manually select it on the Sensar Pro. If the signal is too weak or non existent you're out of luck for that channel.
Here's a link to a site where you can download a spreadsheet that contains information on all the TV stations in the US:
https://www.rabbitears.info/ss/

Download link:
http://www.rabbitears.info/ss/DTV-Channels.xlsx
« Last Edit: October 09, 2019, 03:10:20 PM by Tom_M »
Tom
2005 Born Free 24 Rear Bath
Towing 2013 Smart Car

NY_Dutch

  • ---
  • Posts: 5367
  • Home is where our wheels are!
Re: Sensor Pro
« Reply #10 on: October 09, 2019, 09:03:42 PM »
Winegard has a free signal finder app that works for both OTA and sat signals. The OTA section shows you the direction and distance for each station in your area. It even has an augmented realty function that shows you exactly which direction to point your antenna using an overlay on the camera view. In the map view, if you tap on the blue dot for a given tower, the label shows the RF channel and station call letters. Tapping on the label shows you the virtual channel number and distance to the tower.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.winegard.finder

https://apps.apple.com/us/app/winegard-tv-signal-finder/id1273395282
Dutch
2001 GBM Landau 34' Class A
F53 Chassis, Triton V10, TST TPMS
2011 Toyota RAV4 4WD/Remco pump
ReadyBrute Elite tow bar/Blue Ox base plate