Best way to learn guitar for beginners

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
One thing I might add on learning guitar. I have been playing for close to 40 years. There is no secret way, or magic bullet. It takes thousands of hours to learn to play at any decent level. Some people think they can learn in six months or a year. This is not realistic. I have taught many people to play guitar. I start them on a five year plan. Once they reach five years, they say, "ok I made five years, whats next". I then tell them, "you are now on the life time plan". Most people quit once they realise it takes considerable time and dedication. You never stop learning. Even Eric Clapton still takes guitar lessons. As long as you get enjoyment out of it, you have reached your goal. I will never stop playing, and still play a lot. I have played professionally at different times in my life, but in my opinion, still have a lot to learn. You are never alone if you play guitar.

Thanks muskoka guy, and very well said. Regrettably, those of us - like me - who started late in life don't have "a lifetime" to practice  :(

msw3113 said:
Another memorable, and easy to learn/play song, was "Gloria" by Them.  Three chords, none barred. 
No matter how bad the band, kids always danced to it.
Actually there are three barred chords in the solo. High E, D and A with the E played on the 12th fret, the D on the 10th fret and and A on the 9th fret. But the basic song has no barred chords.

I learned by picking up an old Bob Dylan songbook around 1964 plus an old Stella folk guitar. The fretboard was like an aircraft carrier and the stings were like razors.

But, I liked Dylan and knew the songs.

The chords weren't too bad to figure out from the tabs at the top of the musical staffs. Usually three chord progressions, so I'd practice and sing and kept myself amused.