12v system not working/ need advice please.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Keystonecougar29fks

Hey, my name is Joey. I live in a 2009 Keystone cougar and have been for a few years now. Recently my 12v system started bugging out on me. No lights, water heater, or fridge atm. But if I use the microwave which is AC then the fridge comes on and interior lights. I'm new to these issues and have tried to research it online but cant find anything with this exact situation going on. I'd be very greatful for any advice or suggestions. Thanks in advance.

I have no idea but I just wanted to welcome you to the forum. Others will be along soon with questions for you.

The Microwave should NOT have anything to do with the 12 volt systems but.. It might if you are on 50 amps and not using A/C or selected other things.

YOu need a volt meter and meter not the 12 volt system (To start we do that later) but the 120 volt system at teh breaker panel

For a 50 amp RV you should see 120 volts between the two black wires (or black and red) connected to the 50 amp breakers and the WHITE bus.> Caution dangerous voltage/current DO NOT TOUCH ANY METAL in the box when measuring.. Also each breaker down the line should show 120 volts to the white bus. any burned or loose connections need fixing (Suspect #1  Screw loose).  YOu should also see 240 volts (if plugged into 50 amps) between the two 50 amp main breakers  if you are on a 30 amp site with adapter you won't see that (zero side to side).

IF you are in a 30 amp rig.. None of the above applies.  Save the screw loose

To check for screws loose UNPLUG and apply screwdriver.. If they are loose (Check 'em all) tighten and then once done plug back in.

Next we get to the 12 volt side of life but I'll leave that for tomorrow.

So just to confirm:

1) you always have 120V (microwave always works)?