Using a 2 wheel tow dolly

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MikeFromMesa

I have just bought a new FWD vehicle that we intend to tow, but which is not flat-towable. I have towed before, but always with Jeeps as the tow vehicle and always flat-towed, so I find myself uncertain about how to set up the car for tow-dolly towing.

The vehicle is an automatic transmission Honda Fit (my tow weight limit is low) and I am pretty sure I know how to load the vehicle onto the tow dolly (although I have never done that before), but I find myself unsure of how to set up the car itself, so I have some pretty basic questions.

1) I am sure I have to leave the emergency brake off, but what about the transmission setting? I can not turn the engine off without putting it in Park, but does Park lock the rear wheels? If so, how do I get the transmission into neutral (if that is the right setting) without starting the engine?

2) Do I remove the key and lock the steering wheel? Or does that depend upon the tow dolly?

I watched a bunch of YouTube videos about using tow dollies, but they all spend the time on how to load the dolly, not on how to set up the car. I think this is a pretty basic question but since I have never done this before I am uncertain what to do and worry that I will ruin the transmission if I do something wrong.

If the tow dolly has swivel plates, you can leave the Tranny in park and steering locked, generally. If not, then need to leave steering unlocked.

Parking brakes generally lock the rear wheels. Leave the parking brake disengaged.

Your Honda Owner's manual should have a section on towing.

A friend of mine owns a Fit, and pulls it on a dolly. I will ask him about details. 

The Fit is a front drive (FWD), so transmission Park locks the front wheels, not the rear. Leave the parking brake off and tranny in Park.