carrying extra fuel

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Richard R

I thought I'd just mention this since I've had some experience in travelling out in the wilderness.  Several years ago my wife and I ventured out to the western states to visit National Parks like Glacier, Yellowstone, Devil's Tower, Little Big Horn etc.  I had the foresight to carry a 5 gallon gas container and I was plenty glad that I did.  We were running low on gas, somewhere out in the middle of nowhere, hoping that at the next interstate interchange there would be somewhere to fuel up.  When we got there, there was NOTHING!  That 5 gallon surely came in handy.  My son had a similar experience in a rental car when he and his wife travelled from Las Vegas to visit the Grand Canyon.  They had to go way out of their way, running on fumes to find a small, dinky town with one gas pump to fill up.  I'll never plan another long trip without carrying extra gas, it's not going to take up enough space that you won't have room for.

Probably a good idea if you are traveling in remote areas but for me, we've done a lot of RV camping and I've never had a time that I couldn't find a gas station. Seems that there is always one at every intersection no matter where we went.

It's certainly good to give this subject some serious thought, but a LOT depends on what you are driving, too. I carry extra fuel in my DP in its 100 gallon tank, and usually start looking for a station somewhere near half full, meaning after 350-450 miles, depending on conditions. Even when I was driving a car instead of a DP, I never needed a can with extra fuel, even in the most remote areas we traveled, including the areas you mention, but it certainly pays to monitor usage very carefully where it's a long ways between fuel stops, and sometimes to fill up when you don't quite need it yet.