Route Recommendation from Eastern PA into Cape Cod

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

steelmooch

Hello, all...and thanks for your time and consideration. 

I'm currently planning a Pittsburgh-to-Cape Cod trip for June 2021. 

(For reference, we tow a 28' Winnebago Minnie travel trailer behind a full-size NV3500 passenger van.  I'm a fairly confident driver, yet realize that I'm lacking experience after only 3 years of part-time towing.) 

I'm considering 3 different routes...two of which skirt around NYC to the northwest a good 15 miles or so...route 287. 

The third route takes Route 95 pretty much "through town" on our way up to the Cape. 

The various "route" apps I've used show pretty similar drive times for all three routes. 

We have the good fortune that we can pretty much "cherry pick" our departure/travel times out of northeast PA for the "New York" leg of the trip, but I'd rather not be attempting a 4 AM departure or be driving after (summertime) dark. 

I've never been to NYC or even seen it from afar.  Part of me sort of wants to take the I-95 route in hopes of catching a glimpse of the city...I think our kids and us might enjoy that. 

Part of me sort of *knows* better, with respect to potential traffic and having to maneuver 50 feet and 15,000 lbs of rig through it. 

Is anyone able to speak from experience here?  Might we pass through I-95 during mid-morning or early afternoon (day and time flexible) without getting into a traffic mess?  Keep farther away from the city? 

Thank you!  Happy travels. 

Remember, drive times do NOT take traffic congestion into account.