rvupgradestore.com Composet Products Fridge Defend
RV Life Magazine RV Park Reviews RV Trip Wizard

Author Topic: Question About Sharp Convection Microwave  (Read 340 times)

arcticfox2005

• ---
Question About Sharp Convection Microwave
« on: February 15, 2020, 08:22:40 AM »
Our new to us Tiffin has a Sharp convection microwave instead of a conventional oven. Neither of us has ever used one and since we have zero knowledge, a book was in order. I studied the choices and ordered one from Amazon.

It it well written and starts off discussing the types of convection ovens (there are five) and then she states that all of the recipes were developed with the first three types in mind. Naturally, convection microwave is type four. She does state that the recipes can be adapted to be usable with a convection microwave. Therein lies the problem. Adapted how? In general are there modifications to try?

Overall, I like the book and for $14 it's not worth the effort to return it, so any info on modifications would be welcomed.

Bill
« Last Edit: February 15, 2020, 09:30:27 AM by arcticfox2005 »

Gary RV_Wizard

• Forum Staff
  • ---
  • RVer Emeritus
Re: Question About Sharp Convention Microwave
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2020, 08:56:07 AM »
You are over-thinking this. A convection microwave is two different appliances in one box, a microwave and a convection oven.   When you use it as a microwave, follow the microwave recipes. When you use it as a convection oven, follow the oven recipes.  The only time it gets more complicated is when you use both microwave & convection at the same time to get faster cooking, what Sharp calls "mixed operation".  It should be covered in your Sharp owner manual.  If you didn't get the manual with the coach, find it at http://www.sharpusa.com/ForHome/HomeAppliances/MicrowaveOvens/SMD2480CS.aspx?view=manuals