Inverter vs Inverter Charger

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Blues Driver

In the course of planning a solar system with 3 -325watt panels and 4 225 amp hr 6 volt batteries, 2s 2p, I originally intended to install a 2000watt 12 inverter with an auto transfer switch. In the course of shopping and learning, a Victron 3000watt / 100 amp Inverter Charger unit was recommended. Lots of bells and whistles.  Another vendor recommended a Spartan unit of similar capacity but less bells an whistles and less $.  The 3000 watt capacity seems excessive for the battery bank but I have no experience with this. 
Our 2010 Winn. Vista is currently equipped with a 300 watt inverter and a converter of unknown capacity. 4kw Onan.  I will be installing a Victron battery monitor in the next few days. 
Is this overkill? Worth the ~ extra $350? Any thoughts appreciated. 
Thanks
Pat

Nice solar set up 3 big panels!

What is the load you'll be running? If you intend to run a residential fridge, microwave and misc. (tv lights, etc.) then I'd go with the 3000 W (pure sine, I would hope). Having the 100A charger is good for getting the batteries back up quickly. You should also use a automatic generator start module (unless it's one of the bells and whistles). With the AGS, the generator will start and charge the batteries automatically as a supplement to the solar when you don't have shore power - it will most likely also start the generator when your A/C wants to come on (sweet convenience).

You can always add more batteries when you want to (I'd suggest two more at some time - not knowing your intended load).

Your are on the correct path - don't pinch a penny at this point.