Interior Decorating and Painting Walls

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

NW

I'm very new to all of this, but am considering a Class A DP. Due to budget, it will need to be used. Many of the units I have looked at have a great layout, nice slides, furniture, appliance, etc. However, the walls often have a VERY country or Victorian look with the bordered and/or patterned wallpaper look. The newer models seem to offer a bit more contemporary interior design, but I have to likely look at something in the 2000-2004 or so models due to a maximum price budget limitation.

My question is how tough would it to be to paint over the interior wall material? Are there too many small crevices and cracks, or is the typical wall covering simply not going to accept paint well (I am assuming a good primer, of course)? Being absolutely new to this, it seems like it would be an easy way to find a coach that is otherwise a great layout and in good shape, then simply paint, change fabrics, window treatments, etc. Has anyone done this successfully or am I headed in the wrong direction?

All depends on what make and model of coach you are talking about. There is a wide variety of materials used in wall coverings, paneling, woodwork (or faux-wood work), etc.

NW