What's with all the 30A plugs and how to tell someone what I need?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jaunvie

Sorry I'm new to larger rvs (only pop-ups before) and I just don't get it.

My rv says it's running 125v 30A. No problem right? Someone said it's the same plug as a dryer (It's not! But I already knew that  ;) ) So I tried to look up ther plug online to show them a picture. Type in "30A plug" and.... nope, those aren't really it. So I type in "rv 30A plug" and.... nope, those aren't really it either. Ok, um, let's try "125v 30A" well.... that's better, at least SOME of them seem right. What's going on?  So now I'm curious. How do I relate to others what plug I'm talking about. I decide to go to the local rv store and most of what "looked right" said "generator adapters". Wait, what?..... ok, back to the internet. (Now I'm on a mission) From what I have gathered, it's called a "twist lock", but even trying to research those there seems to be multiple diffrent kinds. I don't understand it.

Ok, I DO have the accessory I need (so I'm not looking for anything specific) and the veterans and electricians might laugh (or at least chuckle) at me (I know I am), but now I want to know. Why all the diffrent plugs? Even at the rv store (maybe it was a new employee) I had difficulty explaining what plug I had. She seemed to understand, but then kept bringing out the wrong one. Could the veterans here explain it to me a little better? I'm kind of worried now that when I go to a campsite, they will, of course, have the "other" type of rv plug (It seems to be more common), and I won't be able to plug in.

Am I crazy? (The answer is yes, but beside the point) But what the heck is going on here?