Newbie wants a RV

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tsspayne01

Hello all.  I am new to RVs but I would like to take the plunge.  I need advice badly as I have confused myself.  I am looking for an rv to pull a 26ft aluminum enclosed trailer with a car in it.  Combined trailer and car weight is about 7,000 lbs.  I am looking at 2000-2008 diesel pushers.  I have found two that I am interested in but I cannot really understand the pros and cons of each.  One is a 2004 Holiday Rambler Endeavor 38ft long with cummins engine (69K mi) that looks pretty well taken care of being offered by owner.  The other is a 2007 Itasca Meridian 34H CAT engine (80K mi) at a dealer (has been there over a year) that has had a turbo, water heater, microwave, and lots of other things replaced as well as some rear corner body work.  The endeavor is being offered at 47,500 which is slightly above NADA and the Meridian is being offered at 49,000 which is like 10,000 below NADA.  I would prefer the shorter one because of the trailer length but it concerns me that a dealer has had a the Meridian for such a long length of time and offering it well below book price and still no takers.  Also, we are a family of five that will be travelling in it.  I am asking for any and all advice and comments.  Thanks all.

Welcome!

I would suggest if you have the trailer and car now, go and get them weighed so you are sure of what you plan to tow.

My opinion is for such a long trailer, I would want the tv (tow vehicle) to not have a long overhang behind the rear axle.

As far as the RV itself?... floor plan, floor plan, floor plan. Look at lots of floor plans before choosing good deals. In my profession we have a saying... ?The wrong piece of gear at the right price is still the wrong piece of gear?.

Welcome. I have read thru your post and you stated that one coach had some rear end damage.