What's wrong with RV service?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Gary RV_Wizard

Site Team
Most of what follows is a reply I made on our sister site, IRV2.com. I'm repeating it here becasue it's a worthwhile topic, even if we aren't likely to change much (if anything) by reviewing it here.

Back in the day I worked as an automotive service consultant for the major car manufacturers, back when car dealer shops were failing miserably with the new-fangled vehicle electronics. I was/am a systems analysis expert with years of computer electronics experience, so the powers-that-be thought I could help.  After awhile I realized that some shops simply didn't try to succeed at service, some wanted to succeed but lacked training, and some only wanted to maximize the revenue in the shop whether they ever fixed anything or not. And that is in shops where there is a decent franchise-based incentive to provide quality service. The RV industry has just about zero incentive to do that well,  plus the product support and the parts distribution structure makes it awkward at best.  Most of us are pre-conditioned to expect auto dealer like service because its a dealership, right?  But RV service has very little in common with car dealer service.

The fundamentals of what's wrong could occupy numerous pages here, but I'm not going to do that.  A quick summary, though includes these reasons:

1. The workload is heavily seasonal. The shop can't get enough qualified workers during the RVing season, yet cannot generate enough work to pay them a decent wage in the off-season. That results in what is essentially part-time techs whose skills are limited to "what do I replace next?".