First trip with new tt didn't go so well

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Chris

Hello all, I am a newbie here. I am also a newbie to rv'ing. My wife and I just bought a '03 Starcraft Aruba 25BH. We took our first trip last week, and just thought I would share our experience.
Everything was going well on the trip until we pulled into a fast food place. I went into the tt to make sure the fridge was still working on gas, which it was, and notice that the glass housing on the light above the table had fallen off. It didn't break, so I started putting it back on and noticed the light was flickering when I tried to put it back up. It ended up blowing a fuse! I left it alone, and decided to look at it when we got to the CG.
When we got to the entrance to the CG, there was a tight turn around a power pole that I had to make. Everything was going fine until I hung the steps, that I forgot to put back up from the fast food stop, on the pole. I proceded to rip off the bottom step on the pole! After beating myself up for forgetting to put the steps up, I finally got the tt parked. I pulled the light over the table down, and found that the ground had come loose and shorted out. I got it re-wired, and had to go to an auto parts to get new fuses. With the fuse replaced, and the steps now torn off, I thought we could finally start enjoying our new tt. Wrong!
It was pouring down rain, and stupid me made the comment to my wife "well, at least we haven't found any leaks". You guessed it, water started dripping on our bed from the roof! I didn't have a ladder, so there was nothing I could do but put a bucket under it.