rvupgradestore.com Composet Products Fridge Defend
RV Life Magazine RV Park Reviews RV Trip Wizard

Author Topic: Looking for first RV  (Read 350 times)

dsplaisted

• ---
Looking for first RV
« on: July 14, 2020, 03:04:32 AM »
Hi folks,

We're planning to buy our first RV.  In my first post, you gave lots of useful feedback which dissuaded us from purchasing an RV that had some significant issues.  Now I've got a bunch of questions I'm hoping you can help with.

Background
We're hoping to go full-time for at least a few months.  I'm a software developer currently working from home during COVID, so we'd like to take the chance to work from the road and see the country.  We've got two kids aged 4 and 9.

We are most interested in a class A RV, as the overall size and storage space seems like it would work better for full-time.

Washer / Dryer
We've been thinking of a washer / dryer as a big plus in an RV if we're full-timing.  How important should that be to us?  Do most RV parks have laundry machines available?  There are of course a lot more options without washer / dryers.  If we go without, are we likely to regret it?

Towing a Jeep
We also think it's important to be able to tow a car along with us, so we don't have to take the RV to go shopping, or to the beach, or into national parks that may have length restrictions, etc.  We have a 4 door Jeep Wrangler, which my research seems to indicate is a good option to tow.

What do we need in order to set up our Jeep to be towed?  The dealership referred me to a place which never responded to my email.  I think you need a tow bar, a wiring hookup, and the bumper of the jeep replaced with something that connects to the tow bar.  Where should I look to get that all set up?  And what is a reasonable price?  One RV shop quoted about $4,000 for everything.