Aluminum Roof Repair FAILURE

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rambo37

Hello everyone newbie here from New York. I bought a used Jayco 231RB last year and went to work redoing the roof. Removing all old silver coating, cleaned it real good with soap and water and then resealed it with Liquid Rubber RV roof coating. I followed the Instructions and primed the roof with their primer product as well. I also patched some areas with eternabond tape and did a fairly large patch with new aluminum flashing over the cab. I glued that down with rubber cement and then eternabond tape over the seams.

One year later I am finding that the roof is now beginning to peel up in areas. I believe it is due to corrosion on the aluminum roofing. (The chalky white substance that comes about when the aluminum comes in contact with water.) I noticed spots where it looked like it was bubbling up under the coating and when i started to tug on the loose bits of coating underneath there was that corrosion.

Also, where I used eternabond tape to cover smaller holes and painted over with the coating, the rubber coating peeled right off of that as well. It stuck perfectly to the patch with new aluminum.

My question is, is it necessary to remove all of the coating and redo the whole roof? I think if i tug and scrape it will come off. I obviously want to avoid that but Id rather do it right then pay for it down the line. Or should i maybe use Dicor to fill in those holes where the corrosion was happening and then re prime and re coat only the areas where I peeled the coating back. Alternatively i could use eternabond tape over those small pinholes where the corrosion was happening. The way that the coating peeled right off the eternabond tape Im a little hesitant to do that method.

Ill add some pictures in the morning to show you guys what Im talking about.