Hints, Tricks and Gadgets/Tools --- small ones.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
This is by far the best topic I have come across on the forums for general information. Thanx everyone.

Myself being a noob, I really only have one thing to contribute to date and that is (this really is for new newbies) Dont for one milisecond think that you dont have to drain your hot water tank completely when winterizing your rig... I just learned the hard way that the bloody think will freeze and crack at the weakest point.  :'(

Now that I've said my piece, back to cleaning up the mess and re-installing the freshly repaired tank...  :mad:

Dave
AB Canada

Keep a compressed air horn within reach of your entrance door.  It will scare off a bear or other intruding wildlife, signal others to an emergency if need be, make an unwanted person back up so you can slam and lock the door, etc..  Great for tenters and hikers too.  Again, for scaring off wildlife, but also for people to find you if you get lost.

Example: http://www.cabelas.com/prod-1/0037806018252a.shtml  They sell the horns that run off of a can of compressed gas at boating supply stores also.

I saw it used a few week back around 1am when a bear trundled into a campground looking for food.  It scared away the bear and woke up people in the area quickly so they could take precautions.

Gottasmilealot said:
Keep a compressed air horn within reach of your entrance door. 

That could probably come in handy for a lot of things - tornado warning, scare off wildlife, announce to the people around you that you have an emergency, chase away your spouse......

Wendy

Have carried small air horn for years(since bear in camp :eek:) and also LARGE cow bell.  As long as the bear leaves don't care if I wake up the neighboors. ;D ;D ;D