Towing GMC Acadia

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Tom

Thanks for the info. I have a call in to Roadmaster tech support about the braking system but have not heard back from them yet.
I will check with the dealership as well but I would tend not to trust what they say.
This whole thing started with me being told that the Acadia does NOT tow 4 down.

Dave

Gary

I just heard back from GM tech support and the Acadia does not have the active power assist braking system.
As of now it only appears to be in the Hummer H3.
Again thanks for all your help.

Dave

Dave,

What auxiliary braking system does Al use in his H3?

RV Roamer said:
Yes, I use a Brakemaster. Seems to work fine for the last 11k towing miles and I haven't heard of any "too sensitive" problems. I chose Brakemaster mostly because the coach was already equipped for it, so I only had to install the car side.  But its a solid, decent performing system and I am quite satisfied. Getting any wire or air line into the passenger cabin of an Acadia is a bit of a challenge cause I could not find any convenient opening in the firewall, but once I figured out  a place to make a hole (actually in the floor) it went easily enough.

M&G did not have a unit that would fit on the Acadia as of 4-5 months ago, but give them a call to see if anything has changed.

Gary

I ended up buying the Brakemaster for my Enclave. I am in the middle of installing it now and I have one more question for you.
Every thing is going fine but I can't figure out how the brake monitor light is going to work. As you know on your Acadia you have to pull the 50amp Batt 1 fuse to tow and the brake monitor light has to be connected to the brake light switch by the pedal. With the fuse pulled there is no power to that switch.
How did you overcome that problem.

Thanks

Dave