Why did you choose a camper instead of a van?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jake123

I'm a newbie here and trying to learn as much as I can.  I'm thinking to be a fulltimers on my own in a year or two and I'm debating getting a truck camper or conversion van.  I know that a MH has more room and niceties, but I'm not going to be able to afford one.  So my question to the veterans is why you pick the truck camper as oppose to the conv. van.?

Jake,

I started fulltiming with a 29ft fifth wheel, then a 28 ft travel trailer.  They both had their pluses.  However, because there is only me and I don't travel fulltime anymore, I have gone to a pickup camper on my truck and tow a small 4wd vehicle behind me when I travel.

This allows me to leave the truck and camper parked while being able to explore (and go shopping/sightseeing) with my 4wd at twice the mileage of my truck, which is a 93 Ford F250.

The plus side of a van is that if set up well, you have all your cooking and toilet facilities on board and you can park pritnear anywhere.  The downside is that you live in a very, very small area and you have to pack everything up and put it away to even go, for example, to the grocery store.

Jayne,  You don't know how good your choice of words does for my memory.   Haven't heard or used pritnear, in a Coon's age.  Grew up using terms like that.  Thanks, you sure brought back memories.

You do have lots more versatility with a TC and pickup, but in dollars, you can probably get the conversion less than buying the 2 uits.  Alos consider that a TC and a PU will have to be 2 seperate loans. 

Room, more in the TC.  Bathroom in a conversion is alost an afterthought, close or bathroom, which do you prefer?

re, won't be able to afford an RV so will have to have a van.
I don't think so.