2004 COACHMEN FREEDOM 27' WITH CHEVROLET 6.0 ENGINE fuel economy

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

RADMANMOOSE

Hi evryone, I am a newbie.  I would like to buy a class c and came across this coacmen freedom with a great flooor plan.  The seller said at 58mph it gets 10mpg, at 65 it gets 8mpg!  I am wondering if there are better choices.  is the Ford motor better?  I like the Winnebago View/Navion, but I don't want to pay $72,000to get 17mpg.  I also looked at a Winnebego vista with a VW motor.  I am really confused.  Can anyone give some advice to me would be greatly appreciated.
Thank You so much.

If you are going to use this unit as a vacation unit, it's OK and lower end classification. There are a lot better units out there to purchase. Everyone has to make their own decision. JMO

The MPG is pretty typical of a Class C and smaller Class A's.  I get 10 - 11 mpg in my 2006 Dutchmen (Ford E450) at 55mph, with or without my toad (2300lb) - which is pretty lightweight as toads go.  An increase/decrease of a mile or two per gallon will depend largely on the condition of the engine, tire inflation, terrain and the way it's driven. I'd be surprised if you got anything close to 17 mpg from any Class C.  For that mileage you would be looking at a Class B.

Do your homework and look at as many makes and models - new and used - before you chose.  If you still like the floorplan of the Coachmen and it suits your purpose, go for it.  It's not a 'high-end' coach but it's probably not a 'high-end' price either.  Good luck!

BT

Thank You all very much!