Where's my power converter??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hoorders

Hi everyone,

Excuse the rather silly question (im very new to RV'ing....haven't actually used our TT yet)

I had the our TT plugged into 110v in the driveway to check everything out.....and it seems like everything works, lights, bathroom fan, radio, A/C, etc.......it got me thinking that there must be a power converter somewhere but I have no idea where it could be.

Where are they 'normally' located in TT.....its a 25ft Salem Lite by Forest River.

Thanks very much.

The power converter could be located almost anywhere. :) I've found them under a sofa, behind a drawer in the galley and sometimes in a bedroom. You'll just have to start looking behind things and hopefully you'll find it quickly. You might try contacting the manufacturer and see if they can point you in the right direction. They may also put a partition around the converter to keep people from storing stuff and blocking air flow. It should be open enough to get air. You could also listen for a fan if the batteries are charging. It won't be loud but you might hear it when you get close.

When all is very quiet in the trailer, say late at night, you will probably hear a low hum from the converter. That should help you locate it. It has to be plugged in, of course, for it to hum.

On a 25 footer, another clue is where the shore power cord enters the trailer.  The converter is liable to be near that point.  You also can locate it by tracing the positive battery cable back if possible.

RV Roamer said:
When all is very quiet in the trailer, say late at night, you will probably hear a low hum from the converter. That should help you locate it. It has to be plugged in, of course, for it to hum.