Wind Turbine Season 2008

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
E

egdeaile

Well,

I am a wind turbine tech, and it came time to head out to the mid-west for work as the land thaws out. I saw the opportunity to get my trailer across the mountain range for the season. So, here's the report on the first leg of my journey.

So, I got the brand new truck. Yay.
I got the gooseneck put in it. Yay

I then drove 2000 miles in 2 days because my first day got snowed out. Yuck.

I didn't get to see any of the sites of course, it was purely a here-to-there trek. However, several key incidents mar this beginning to the season:

1. The trailer hit my bed rail. On my new truck. Not happy. (on Second thought... I did want rhino liner...)
2. The trailer leaks. I knew it wasn't totally sealed, but my mattress is now wet. Yuck. Guess what I'll be doing this weekend.
3. Some lucky person along Interstate 70 west bound has the opportunity to pick up a free brake-lens cover from a 23 foot Front Range fifth wheel.
4. Gas can (empty) in the bed came free and flew out of the bed. Darn it.
5. It took out my break away cable when it did. I was going 65. Double &%#* it. Trailer still brakes okay, not sure what kind of damage has been done.
6. At 22 degrees outside, it took my trailer 35 minutes to reach 50 degrees. It is now 65. Goooood trailer.

Okay, sleepy time. Thank goodness I gained 2 hours by traveling west, I need the rest before work tomorrow!

I'll add more as the season continues and I have more adventures with the old girl. (Don't be too hard on her, she was built in 84)