Too many thermostats!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Daniel G

This will be a stupid question for you old time pros but I'm still learning the ropes about my 1996 Tropical.  There are three thermostats for the heat / air system.  I understand that each of the roof units has its own thermostat control but what is the function of the third controller.  It has no on/off switch, just a slide switch with temperature increments and is located directly beneath one of the other controls.  Is it directly hooked to the floor furnace and serving as a master switch for the other two?

I searched the owner's manual and can find no mention of this controller.

Thanks.

Daniel G

One for each roof unit if they have heat strips/heat pump
One for propane furnace
or
one for basement heat.

All shear speculation.

Daniel,

Could it be for a Fantastic Fan in a ceiling vent?

Daniel,

I think Tom is the winner. Many of the newer coaches are coming with a thermostat on the wall for a Fantastic Fan. Some are elaborate and have an auto and manual operation. Look at the ceiling and see if there is a Fantastic Fan there. If so, and it has a motor, then I'm pretty sure that is what is controlled by the thermostat. If you move it just a little to the right the fan should start to open.

Daniel G said:
This will be a stupid question for you old time pros but I'm still learning the ropes about my 1996 Tropical.  There are three thermostats for the heat / air system.  I understand that each of the roof units has its own thermostat control but what is the function of the third controller.  It has no on/off switch, just a slide switch with temperature increments and is located directly beneath one of the other controls.