Importing to the UK

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

simsy

Hi there! l was wondering if anyone could tell me if l have to pay VAT on an RV bought in the US, and imported to the UK, as l am disabled, (leg amputee). Just thought someone may have come across this before. l get conflicting reports over here. One tax person informed me that l wouldn't pay VAT if the vehicle was adapted. But l am an amputee below knee, left side, and l really don't want any adaptations, l can function normally, with the exception of needing a seat in the shower. Thank You, Craig.

Maybe one of our UK-based members can answer your question. Meanwhile, you might find some interest in these articles in our library.

Hi Craig

Im not an expert on this - in fact I am just relaying info from HMRC website.

The key statements are :-

3.1 What is an eligible adapted motor vehicle?

It is any motor vehicle (such as a car, light van, multi-passenger vehicle (MPV) or motor home) that is:

designed, or substantially and permanently adapted for the carriage of a disabled wheelchair user ? see paragraphs 3.2 to 3.6;

and

has a carrying capacity of no more than 12 people ? see paragraph 3.7.

So, it does seem the vehicle must be adapted - sorry !

Here is the form - http://tinyurl.com/yvn55m

Of course, you could still go down the 12 month outside EU route and get VAT & Duty Free - see links on this website.

Paul

Paul,

Reading the definitions of 'Adapted', it seems to me that it wouldn't take much to comply. At the simplest end, add a (removablel) knob to the steering wheel, or add a couple of floor mounts to secure a wheelchair. There's no requirement for the handicapped person to be sitting in the wheelchair if so secured.

In the unlikely event that the vehicle has to be inspected, just be sure it's not one of those people with a tape measure at the DVLA in Swansea.