What kind of van is this?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AlexP

Hello everyone,

I am new to the world of RV's, and am considering buying an old camper van.  Here are some pictures of one that I like, but I can't contact the owner right now.  From what I know, it is a 79 Dodge.  Does anyone know what model this is, or any information about it?

http://picasaweb.google.com/Alex.Popesco/RV

Thanks!

[edit]Made link clickable[/edit]

That's a Champion Trans-van it was made in Imlay city Michigan in the seventies they are like a class b and feature long bench seat running down the sides and IIRC a small sink.
we used to visit the factory when i was younger.

Wow does that bring  back memories... 1980, Rebublician National Primary was held here in Detroit,  An origination was formed to promote both Michigan and Public Transportation, A fleet of Trans-Vans was donated to them.  The vans were staffed by a 2 person team, a driver (Often a ham radio operator) and a communications officer (Always a Ham radio operator) we used the "Edison" repeater (Now the RADAR) on 145.33 Mhz (output) to dispatch the vans to pick up many of the republician governors and/or their Staff (Michigan and Ohio the Governor had his own limo but his staff road with us) I was one of the comm-officers.