Burning Eyes

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

casiglio

Hello all!!
We just purchased our first trailer, a Jayco Jay Flight 27BH.  Is it common for a new trailer to have fumes that burn your eyes on hot days?  We live in Texas and the fumes have been so strong that we haven't been able to get it stocked, cleaned and ready for a trip we have coming up.
I've heard that the fumes are formaldehyde and are common in new trailers.  Is this true and what can i do to get it aired out once and for all?  I have all the windows and doors open day & night.
Any help or suggestions are appreciated.

Hi Casiglio,

The answer is yes! The burning sensation is the formaldehyde used in the construction of the coach. I work part time as a PDI tech and Orientation tech at a dealership and there are times when I cannot enter a rig until it is aired out. This will pass but it takes a little time. Be sure to open the windows and vents whenever you can and let it air out. After several days you should see some improvement. Running the air conditioner can also help but I prefer the open windows. Whatever you do don't stay in the rig when it is burning your eyes. Formaldehyde is not good for your system! Extreme heat exacerbates the problem.

We were shopping today, My wife went nuts trying to get out of a new jayco saying it stunk and her eyes burned. It was sorta funny because it happened just as I was reading the 'formaldahyde warning label' at the door.

Salesman said the same thing, it gets worse when they have been closed up and it's hot and humid, so I guess it's not that uncommon. Even though the problem should go away after awhile I'm pretty sure we won't be buying one that has the warning label on it ;D

Hope it works out for you, I think it will for sure. Good Luck.

Chief

Hi Chief,