Short term U.S RV Insurance

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Gilead

Thanks for your great forum.
I've been researching the RV market for a while and my intention is to fly from England to the U.S.A. to buy an RV, take a vacation and drive it to Jacksonville FL for shipping home. I'm a very experienced driver of Left Drive  and large vehicles. Is it possibe for a foreign national to get short -term (under one month) RV insurance? I can use my friend's Stateside address for any mail.
I'm grateful for any help
Nick

Welcome to the forum!  You might try posting this question in the "Visitors to the USA" section for a quicker response...

You might try posting this question in the "Visitors to the USA" section for a quicker response

Done!

Welcome to the RV Forum Gilead.  What type of RV are you buying..motorhome or fifth wheel?

I don't know anything about short term insurance, but I recall my insurance agent telling me a number of years ago that their (State Farm Insurance) RV policies were written assuming 6 months of usage per year. As a result, they didn't offer shorter term coverage. Obviously, this is not fulltimer's insurance.

It is the general practice here to refund any unused portion of the policy when it is terminated, so the policy term is probably not an issue. Be sure to ask before contracting whether the premium is prorated if you terminate the policy before its term, but I'm confident the answer will be yes.

Standard practice in the industry is to cancel on a "Short rate " basis when requested by the insured.  (That is pro rata less 10 %.)
Unless they have changed their policy Progressive will issue a 12 month policy with monthly payments that can be canceled at any time. 
They will also issue without a US drivers license , but it is expensive.

Tony