UK Resident - Using LLC to register RV

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Joe C

Hi all

I have read previous posts concerning purchasing an RV via LLC in Montana.
My situation is that I am a UK citizen and as such have a visa that allows me to travel in the USA for six months at a time.

As I am not a resident of any state and have no property or relations and my intention is to travel throughout the USA/Canada/Mexico will I be doing anything illegal by registering my RV in Montana.

Joe

That is a very good question and as I'm not a lawyer.. I have no answer

Are you using your international driver's license or do you have a license issued by a US state? 

(That, I suspect, will be the lawyer's first question after you settle the money issues)

It might make a difference

If you do form a Montana LLC.. I'd give it a name that is not yours.. For example.  "The UK Travler's trust" and have someone who knows how draw up a formal lease/rental agreement.

We have several UK members that have done just that.  You can either use the Advanced Search above to look for the related topics or I'm sure one or more of them will join in here with the details.  Also see these articles in our library for more information.

Since you are from the UK you should have no issues with purchasing an RV then registering it via an LLC.  You need to find the RV first then make arrangements to have it registered in MT under an LLC.

Joe C said:
Hi all

I have read previous posts concerning purchasing an RV via LLC in Montana.
My situation is that I am a UK citizen and as such have a visa that allows me to travel in the USA for six months at a time.

As I am not a resident of any state and have no property or relations and my intention is to travel throughout the USA/Canada/Mexico will I be doing anything illegal by registering my RV in Montana.

Joe