How do you repair soft spots in TT floor?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

magstar67

Newbie here, I just bought a '02 Coleman Caravan 25'.  I knew about these spots when I bought it but would like to repair them.  It has a soft spot in the bathroom in rear and one in the front floor area of the trailer.  What is the best way to repair these?  It has a slideout on the side that has rollers on the bottom so simply adding a new layer of plywood doesnt appear to be feasible.

I know water problems are common on these things so was hoping someone here would have some insight.

Thanks,
Jeff
[email protected]

Jeff,

The first thing you need to do is find where the leaks are located and repair them. The floor will have to be cut out and replaced. You may have to remove some cabinets if there isn't enough support underneath to do the job. You may end up replacing some of the supports or adding new ones as well.  Sounds like quite a project!

As Jim said.. First find the cause, Then treat the problem

Generally there are two or three methods depending on what you find when you dig into it

One method is chemical treatment.. There are treatments that both stop the rotting of the wood and build it back up.. I very strongly suspect this will NOT work for you.. But I list it to be complete

Next is putting additional wood below the damaged area... This may be coupled with a wood filler product on the top side.. This MIGHT work but I'd not hold much hope.

The final method.. Replacement.. Is indicated in most cases.  You tear up the floor and cut out the bad wood, I'd go a distance into good wood, Seal the edges of the cut (paint) and replace the part you removed with new wood.  Seal and re-floor

Jeff,