Travel Trailer Electrical Trouble

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cgaydula

Hi,
I would like to start by thanking everyone who helped me with my roof issue.
I have a 2003 33' Fleetwood mallard that the electric worked fine (30 amp)when plugged into my shore cord until yesterday when an alarm started beeping and I lost power in the camper.
Everytime I turned on a light the alarm beeped and the lights were very dim.
I was not using excessive power, just a fan and small tv.
The outlet i was plugged into works fine.
The breaker is not popped and converter which I usually hear running is not running and in
quick mode.
I did notice however that both of my batteries are stone cold dead and will not take a charge.
Will this effect the electric when plugged in.
Sorry for another question but i am very new at the RV thing and appreciate all the help.
Thank you very much.
Chris

If your converter isn't running, then the batteries aren't getting charged, and none of your lights or other DC appliances will work.  Find out why the converter isn't working.  Either it isn't getting 110VAC or it's died.

The beeping probably comes from your converter/charger or inverter/charger (which ever you have) or from something that requires 12v power (propane detector or maybe the fridge). It is likely a low voltage alarm of some sort. I know our inverter will beep if the voltage goes low when it is on, though that would not happen on shore power, and our Norcold fridge beeps if it loses 12v power.

As Ned says, your first chore is to find out why the batteries aren't being charged. A shorted battery will usually cause the charger to shut down. Your interior lighting is almost all 12v, so it is powered through the batteries and charging system, not direct from shore power. Have you checked the water level in the batteries (I'm guessing they are the flooded cell type)?