Chevy Silverado 1500

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

El Conquistador

I own a Silverado 1500 with a 4.8l V-8 and a 3.73 rear end.  I'd like to pull a trailer with this truck, but I'm sure I'm limited in what I can tow.  I know that the absolute minimum I need to do to this truck is stiffen the rear suspension and add a trans cooler and upgrade the braking system.  I would greatly appreciate other suggestions being that I'm new to this.  In addition to this, there are four of us in my family and I was needing suggestions on types and brands of trailiers you have experienced.  My wife doesn't want a pop-up as she calls them glorified tents!  Is there anything that I can tow safely and efficiently(as possible) in the real world?  Thanks in advance! ;D

Is there anything you can safely tow... Yes,,,, Without question.. I towed a 13' SCAMP trailer with a chevy Lumina APV (3.1 liter V6) no mods other than adding the hitch and wireing for the lights

That said, the Silverado should be able to pull a bit more than my Lumina :)

One suggestion though.. Instead of upgrading the brakes on the tow-vehicle, Make sure the trailer has a properly working brake system

Even on a lighter trailer.... No matter how good the "Tractor" brakes are.  Trailer brakes will do you a world of good

EVERY WHEEL that is on the ground should have brakes  EVERY ONE. even with a 1 ton trailer I'd recommend it (but they don't normally install on trailers till they are more than a ton)  Tekonsha makes very good electric brake controllers

Believe it or not... I grew up in Tekonsha  (It is the name of the Village/Township where the company was founded)

Your Silverado can pull somewhere around 6800-7300 lbs, depending on its exact configuration. See http://www.chevrolet.com/silverado/specifications/ and click on the "Trailering" tab for details.