Adding electric service for RV/Camper

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
BernieD said:
I'm not an electrician and I haven't read the code, but if the pedestal had both 50 and 30 amp breakers, wouldn't that meet the code? Might be a little more expensive to install but a lot less headaches and more happy campers.

I think what you mean to say 50A and 30A receptacles at each sites, but it is not possible.  I went to other campground and saw how they are set up before talking with the electrican yesterday and realized that is why it was set up like this.  Other campground had 9 sites with 50A and 30A receptacles combined and 14 sites with 30A rceptacles with all sites offering 120v receptacles.  That is complied by the code.

But as I have said few times, manufactuerers are not offering as many 30A campers as they used anymore.  If you pay camper dealer a visit, they will tell you 75% of new campers in stock have 50A.  This will be interesting to see how code and campground owners will work in the future.

I guess I have new question now like what happen if we end up having more campers with 50Amp than what is being provided?  Will they still be able to use the 30amp service but mind the appliances that can not be used in this reduced service??

In a word, yes, they'll get by. Several of us have mentioned 50A-30A adapters which allow some of the electrical stuff in a 50A coach to be run off a 30A pedestal. Many coaches have systems that detect the power source and will prevent overloading the circuit by disabling some appliances.

... manufactuerers are not offering as many 30A campers as they used anymore.  If you pay camper dealer a visit, they will tell you 75% of new campers in stock have 50A.