Gray water dumping

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

minitrips

Hello, just bought first rv. A small pop-up. Only have a 10 gal fresh water tank and kitchen sink. I have a fitting on the outside to hook a hose to run out the drain water from the sink. Being a newbie, I am wondering what is the best thing to do. I have seen portable storage tanks that you roll to the dump station, but I do not even know how the dump station operates. Am I going to have to lift that big tank up or is there a hole in the ground? Hate sounding so dumb but I didn't want to buy some tank that I can't lift if I need to. The dealer I bought the RV from said to just run a hose into a 5 gallon bucket. Is that acceptable? Thanks

The bucket will work, but you probably want a cover.  The blue tanks with wheels would work better.  You don't need to lift, just pull to the dump station.  The hole is in the ground.  There is usually a hose to rinse as well. 

I would use a short 4" hose (dia) connected to the blue tank, and long enough to reach the dump hole, Then lift at handle to drain.  At least that is the way I think I have seen that done.  Never had the blue tank.

Some parks allow grey water to drain out, in that situation, a long hose over the the drain area would be sufficient. 

The small amount from a sink wouldn't be much of an issue, however a class A draining a grey tank would be offensive.

Well.... There is a hole in the bottom of it all.

ur, There's a hole in the ground.

My first suggestion is to watch and observe others using the dump station

If you get one of the popular blue waste totes, I beileve there is an optional "Dump Kit" Consists of a short length of 3" hose with the needed female connector..  The blue tank has two fittings on it, one is a standard 3/4 inch Garden Hose (I think male) and the other is a 3" standard RV-Sewer hose