from 5 north to 101, is 20 or 299 best route?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

anet

Next week we are travelling from San Diego to Trinidad in Northern  California, we have a 32 foot motorhome.  We will be taking 5 north and then want to cut across to 101..........Can anyone tell me which is better 299 or 20? Also can anyone reccomend a campground for 1 night on the way up, close to I5, maybe Flag City or Riverpoint Landing in the Stockton area?  Anyone stayed at either one or have another option?  I am new to RV forum so any advise will be much appreciated
thanks
Annette

Flag City and Riverpoint both have plenty of room for your coach. Flag City is closer to I-5 and is nice and more of the formal campground style, whereas Riverpoint is essentially a line of RVs on gravel, but you'd be overlooking the San Joaquin River. I haven't stayed at Riverpoint, but have walked through it a number of times.

I don't recall driving 299, so i can't help there. It's also been too many years since I drove 20.

Ok thanks....I think Flag city will be the best choice since it's closest to I5.  Hopefully someone else will have advise on the route.
Annette

We took 20 eastbound last summer and wouldn't hesitate to drive it again. Our coach is 42' long plus toad, but does have a 400hp diesel engine. There were a few uphill pulls and twisty sections, but I can't remember anything to hold you breath. Haven't driven 299 so can't comment on that, but 20 is a lot shorter.

Unless you have something you really want to see on I-5 I would cut over a lot nearer the Bay Area.  The drive north from there on US-101 is quite pleasant, very scenic, and the highway is good.   The roads thru the mountains behind Trinidad can be ... shall I say....interesting.  See the relevant pages in Mountain Directory and see if you would like them.  (Do get a copy, Camping World carries it.)